Sleepytowns

My alarm was set for 4:45am with the anticipation of arriving at 6:30am Mysore. Uuuhhh….not the case. Sleepy from a late night of sleep and restless thoughts I snoozed and snoozed until finally I woke up at 6:30am. Luckily! I attended a new studio, Moksha Yoga, who offers Mysore from 6:30-11:30am! (I think the only one in the city).

I was sleepy from the time I awoke until I set foot in Mysore. Yet, my sleepiness quickly dissolved as the instant warmth and movement of breath and asana (poses) began to link and sync with my body and mind. The energy of other people already practicing gives you a sense of focus and determination to be present and try your hardest throughout your practice. People of all levels are there from beginners to advanced and it’s amazing to think about where you’re starting and then seeing where you could go, with practice.

I am so happy I went! That’s one sure thing about yoga…you will ALWAYS come out feeling better than before you started. Instant feelings of looseness, strength and accomplishment. One reason I love it so much, it just makes me feel better :)

The Mysore teacher at Moksha is Todd Bowman. He was great. Nice and playfully spirited yet firmly encouraging. One thing I love about the process of yoga is learning from different teachers. Each teacher has their own experiences and training background that influence their teaching style and observation of students; what one teacher sees and observes in your pose, another may not. So you learn something new every time or go deeper into a pose with different teachers.

I encourage all who are interested in yoga to practice a variety of styles and work with different teachers to find what and who fits your personal style the best.  There are SO many different kinds of yoga so it’s important to try a variety.

I haven’t tried them all, but I have tried a variety from Hatha, Iyengar, Restorative, Jivamukti, Bikram, Core Power, Forrest and Ashtanga/Vinyasa which is what my main training philosophy derived from and what I practice the most now.

Read more about common styles of yoga here:

Leave a Reply

